jump to navigation

Hiroshima Mon Amour August 6, 2016

Posted by rogerhollander in History, Japan, Nuclear weapons/power, Uncategorized, War.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Roger’s note: I had to stop my search for photos of post bombed Hiroshima because it was making me sick to my stomach.  But I don’t regret the effort, and I am posting her only one of the stomach-churning upsetting photos that I saw.  Don’t scroll all the way down if you don’t want to see it.

Today marks the 71st anniversary of the only atomic attack in world history.  I read recently that a nuclear war between the U.S. and Russia could result in the firepower of 70,000 Hiroshima bombs.

Madness.

But fresh from the relief of the end of the war, with little or no thought to the nearly quarter of a million Hiroshima and Nagasaki deaths or the suffering survivors, or the future effects of radiation, Americans continued to celebrate nuclear weapons, as shown in this 1946 picture:

W1

W2

HERE ARE JUST A COUPLE OF HIROSHIMA RELATED PICTURES:

T

2016-05-20T122459Z_66416243_S1BETFDAJJAB_RTRMADP_3_JAPAN-OBAMA-HIROSHIMA

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

